Contact Us

Division of Youth Services
3418 Knipp, Suite A-1 
P.O. Box 447
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0447

(573) 751-3324

(573) 526-4494

Web page:

Missouri Division of Youth Services Advisory Board

The Missouri Department of Social Services, Division of Youth Services (DYS) Advisory Board, created by RSMo 219.046 establishes a 15-member bi-partisan board appointed by the Director of the Department of Social Services.

The membership is comprised of public officials, professionals, and representatives of the general public who possess knowledge and experience in health, education, social, correctional or legal services for children.  The membership is representative of the various geographic regions and socioeconomic population of the state, with no more than 8 board members from the same political party.

The DYS Advisory Board meets with the director of DYS a minimum of 4 times each year for the purpose of reviewing the activities of the division and providing advice and expertise. Board members visit each DYS facility as necessary and provide linkages to the communities around the state. The Board educates citizens and public officials regarding the activities of the division, conditions observed relating to the care and treatment of children, advice on policy priorities, and other pertinent matters.

Current membership of the DYS Advisory Board:

Mr. Bill Smith, Chair – Retired Lewis County Circuit Clerk & Recorder, Monticello (D)

Ms. Cindy Stein, Vice Chair – Greene County Auditor, Springfield (R)

The Honorable Dennis J. Kehm – Retired Circuit Judge, Hillsboro (D)

Ms. Johnnie Greenlaw – Former DYS Parent and Community Liaison Council Member (D), St. Louis County

The Honorable Jack E. Gant – Retired Circuit Judge, Independence (D)

The Honorable Jon R. Gray – Retired Circuit Judge, Kansas City (D)

The Honorable Harold Lowenstein – Retired Appellate Judge, Western District, Kansas City (R)

Mr. Tyrone Flowers – Founder of Higher M-Pact, former DYS Youth, Kansas City (R)

Ms. Sue Parrish – Retired Pettis County Auditor, Sedalia (D)

Ms. Lauren Bruning – Attorney, St. Louis (R)

Ms. Rita Heard Days – Retired State Senator, St. Louis (D)

Ms. Sharron Payne – Butler County Public Administrator, Poplar Bluff (R)

Mr. Rex Rust – Co-President, Southeast Missourian, Cape Girardeau (R)

Mr. Bill Dobbs – Senior Assistant Prosecuting Attorney, Newton County (R) 

Mr. Doug Abrams – Professor, University of Missouri Law School (D)